Posted  by  admin

How To Restrict Download From Google Drive

Jul 25, 2014 Unfortunately after the new updates to Google drive a few days ago, you can't do prevent viewers from downloading anymore. Google keeps taking away very useful features that help the file owner to control and monitor traffic to the file. To download files from drive.google.com, right-click on the file once. Select Download from the menu. Similarly, if you want to download multiple files, select the files first, and then.

  1. How To Restrict Download From Google Drive Windows 10
  2. How To Restrict Download From Google Drive Mac
  3. How To Restrict Download From Google Drive

Knowing how to lock down Google Drive files allows you to maintain control of the content you share with other people. Although sharing and collaboration are part of what makes Google Drive such a great service, there are times when you want to protect your files even after you've shared them.

Perhaps you've sent someone a document or spreadsheet that contains private or sensitive information intended for their eyes only, or you don't trust someone not to pass off your hard work as their own.

The good news is that Google Drive lets you lock down your files, so that nobody can copy, download or print them without your permission. You can also prevent unauthorized people from editing your work.

  • Read our guide to the best cloud storage services

To enable this feature, which Google calls 'Information Rights Management,' you'll need to access Google Drive through your desktop web browser — it can't be turned on via a Google mobile app.

Here's how to turn on Information Rights Management to lock down your files in Google Drive, and control what people can and can't do with the content you share.

How to lock down Google Drive files

1. Open, create or upload a Google Docs document, Google Sheets spreadsheet, or Google Slides presentation in Google Drive.

2. Click the Share button in the upper-right corner of the screen.

3.Click the 'Share with people settings' gear icon in the top-right corner of the resulting pop-up dialogue box.

4.Uncheck the box labeled 'Viewers and commenters can see the option to download, print, and copy.'

You'll see a confirmation message that the setting has been updated.

5. Click back to the previous box and click Change in the 'Get link' section.

6.Click the first drop-down menu to specify who can open the file. Select 'Restricted' to stop unauthorized people accessing the file.

If you want to let others view the file but not edit it, select 'Anyone with this link' from the menu, then choose Viewer from the second drop-down.

7.You can now either click Done to save your changes and exit, or enter the email addresses of the people you want to share the file with.

These should appear automatically as you type them, if Google already has the users' details.

8. Enter a message if you want, then click Send to share the file. This will have your new permissions applied, so that nobody can copy, download, print or change its contents.

  • More:How to delete Google Photos permanently
We check over 250 million products every day for the best prices

Web only

If you’re sharing a Google Drive file that you own, which has sensitive content, you can stop people from re-sharing, downloading, printing, or copying the file or changing access permissions.

To restrict sharing for shared drives, see Get started with shared drives.

Prevent editors from re-sharing and changing access permissions

If you’re sharing a file, the owner or anyone with edit permissions can change the sharing settings for the file. To make it so only you can share:

  1. Open the homescreen for Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Sheets, or Google Slides.
  2. Click Share or Share .
  3. At the top, click Settings .
  4. Uncheck Editors can change permissions and share.
  5. Click Done.
Important: If you prevent sharing of a folder, it only applies to the folder. To turn this on for the files inside, you have to change the settings for the files inside.

When someone with Editor access tries to re-share a restricted file or folder, they get an option to email you for permission to share the file. You can decide whether to share the file. If you do, the user still can’t change access permissions. They’re grayed out and not available.

Prevent commenters and viewers from downloading, printing, or copying files

Note: You can’t restrict these options on Google Sites files.

How To Restrict Download From Google Drive Windows 10

People with edit permissions to your shared files can:

  • Share a file with others.
  • Add or remove specific people from the file.
  • Copy, print, or download the file.

Important: You can't apply this setting to a folder, but you can apply it to individual files in the folder.

To prevent viewers and commenters from printing, copying, or downloading your file:

  1. Open the homescreen for Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Sheets, or Google Slides.
  2. Select one or more files you want to limit.
  3. Click Share or Share .
  4. At the top, click Settings .
  5. Uncheck Viewers and commenters can see the option to download, print, and copy.
  6. Click SaveDone.
When someone with Commenter or Viewer access tries to download, print, or copy the shared file, those options are grayed out and not available.
Important: You can limit how people share, print, download, and copy within Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, and Slides, but you can't stop how others share the file content in other ways.

How To Restrict Download From Google Drive Mac

How to restrict download from google drive link

How To Restrict Download From Google Drive

How can we improve it?